Agnosticism and Atheism

Previous topic - Next topic

cainam_nazier

I have been called an Atheist because I will openly say to people, "There is no god..well not for me."  or "God does exist, but only in the hearts and minds of those who believe."

Most heavy believers take these two lines as insults.  That I am saying that God does not exist.  However I am not saying that.  My view is more that of an Agnostic.  I have no proof of the existance of or non-existance of a god.  By proof I mean that I have had no personal experience to say yes or no.  But by logic the lack of evidence points to the non-existance.  But also I have no real desire or need to find the answers to this riddle.

Because of my experiences thus far I have adapted more of the "personal God" idea.  That being if you are set out to prove then you will find exactly what you are looking for.  The same if you are out to disprove.  Because of that god is not some thing that can be shared by everyone.  You can only know god on an individual level and not on a group one.  This make the whole god/no god experience a very personal one with no resulting physical evidence to support it.

Hence the personal god idea.

beavis

"God) is unknown and prob. unknowable"

I dont like this closed-minded definition. If something exists, it can probably be known by somebody.

"one who is not committed to believing in either the existence or the nonexistence of God or a god"

This one is my belief.

Avalon